Useful Links

Useful Links

The Howard Partnership Trust (THPT) is a Surrey based Multi-Academy Trust, comprising four secondary, six primary and two special schools with two further under development. We are proud of our ethos of collaboration and inclusion, "Bringing out the best" in students of all abilities and backgrounds. Visit website

Part of The Howard Partnership Trust

Curriculum and Qualifications

Our Curriculum Intent

At the Howard we will ‘Bring out the Best’ by providing a rich curriculum experience within and beyond the classroom. We hope to inspire a love of learning and enquiry in our students that enables them to thrive personally and academically, overcome challenges, and make a positive contribution to society.

Our curriculum will be:

Key Stage 3 (Years 7, 8, & 9)

The KS3 curriculum at The Howard embodies, builds upon, and enriches the National Curriculum. Please use the link to cross reference Howard Learning Journeys (available through our Individual Subjects page) with the National Curriculum in each subject. Students will study a broad programme that includes:

The curriculum is timetabled in a ten-day cycle of 50 one hour lessons. On joining the school in Year 7 students are placed in one of two populations, Arks or Royals. These groups are of equal size and represent the full ability range.

For registration and pastoral purposes, a population is further divided into four mixed-ability tutor groups, each under the care of a Form Tutor. The members of a tutor group will be in the same House.

In years 7 to 9 (Key Stage 3), all students follow a broad and balanced curriculum based on the National Curriculum. A tutorial programme (Learning 4 Life) supports students' personal development.

For more information about how students’ progress will be measured at KS3, please click here for the Flight Path Progress information booklet

For information about individual subjects at KS3 (including Intent Statements, Learning Journeys, and Flight Path Grade Descriptors) please refer to the Individual Subjects page. 

Key Stage 4 (Years 10 &11)

In Key Stage 4 of the National Curriculum, students will follow courses leading to GCSE or equivalent qualifications.  . The full range of National Curriculum core and foundation subjects is available.  However, we attempt to tailor students’ options to suit their particular needs. Many students still follow traditional courses leading to GCSE qualifications while many also mix applied or vocational courses with their GCSEs.  There are opportunities for more bespoke pathways for those students who require them. 

Students will study a core programme of both qualification and non-qualification subjects:

The KS4 Curriculum e-booklet for Year 10 2024/25 (current Year 9 ) is available here:

2024 ks4 curriculum offer.pdf


Students will also study optional GCSE and/or Level 2 BTEC qualifications.   All students have the opportunity to take a combination of subjects leading to the English Baccalaureate.

The English Baccalaureate (EBacc)

All students at the Howard are encouraged to study a language through to GCSE, and hence become eligible for the Ebacc. 

It is possible for all students to choose a combination of courses which, if completed successfully, will lead to the award of the English Baccalaureate.  Currently, in order to gain this award students must attain GCSE grade 4+ in

The government states

The EBacc is made up of the subjects which are considered essential to many degrees and open up lots of doors. 

Key Stage 5 (Years 12 & 13)

In Years 12 and 13 students study A Level and/or other Level 3 qualifications. 

In addition, students who have not yet achieved the Government's minimum standard (Grade 4) in GCSE English and/or Maths will study for re-takes.

Click here to view the courses our 6th Form has to offer.